My Book Cover Art

Just received the finished art for my book cover: here it is.

Scavenger_4

The artist is Dmitri Leonovich. I think you’ll agree that his work is pretty awesome!

You can check out Dmitri Leonovich’s online portfolio here and here. I saw his stuff on deviantart and was blown away by it. I really liked his mixture of future aesthetic but with a cool graphic (as opposed to hyper-realistic) sensibility. Apart from the fact that he is based in Belarus, and that he’s a really nice guy and a great artist, I didn’t actually know that much about him.

So here’s a quick Q + A with Dmitry

Hi Dmitri. Where do you live right now?

I was born and live in Minsk, Belarus.

How long have you been drawing?

I think I have been drawing all my life, ever since I can remember. Painting is my hobby and work at the same time. I don’t want any other occupation, so I had a classical academic education (oil painting). I started digital graphics three years ago.

What made you want to want to pursue art?

This art allows me to reveal myself, so I like it as an oil painting.The process of painting gives me pleasure. If I do not work for a long time, I get bored.

What attracts you about doing Sci Fi/Fantasy illustrations?

I take only those orders will that do I fit. Good sci-fi books, films and games are great inspiration for me. I like sci-fi classics of literature such as Herbert Wells, Bob Sheckley, Isaac Asimov, Harry Harrison, Poul Anderson, Larry Niven. I always try to find time to read good books.

Thanks Dmitri! If you want Dmitri to consider doing some illustration for you, you can contact him at  leonovichdmitriy@gmail.com

Next post, I’ll talk through the process of commissioning a piece, and show you some of the preliminary work that Dmitri showed me before arriving at the finished piece!

Leave a Reply

